Programs -> Competition

IC - INTERNATIONAL COMPETITION 

The heart of the festival is the International Competition. 114 films from 33 countries compete in eight thematic programs, two Documentary programs and two Confrontations programs for the six awards. Statistically, French films have the best chances at an award with 13 entries, followed by the US (10), England (9), Germany and Spain (8 each). However, less well-known film nations are also represented: three Iranian films are competing, as well as one film each from Bulgaria and Kurdistan. The longest film is “The Moon and the Son” from the US, running 28 minutes, and “V Gradinata Na Raia” from Bulgaria is the shortest – just one minute. If you don’t want to miss any of the nominees, get comfortable with the idea of spending a grand total of 17 hours, 25 minutes and 1 second in the theater seats at Kino Babylon Berlin:Mitte and Hackesche Höfe.

The international jury will select one film for each of the following Short Awards: “Best Film,” “Best Animation” and “Best Camera.” Two special juries will select the “Best Documentary” and two “Best Films Against Violence and Intolerance.”

more info top

GC - GERMAN COMPETITION 

Germany has limited natural resources, and the economy is currently marked by unsually high unemployment and relatively low growth rates. Only the area of associations is enjoying a rise in numbers: every year at least 15,000 new registered associations are founded. Around 90% of all young adults aspire to monogamous relationships and parenthood. However, one in two German households are single-person households. Sixty-five percent of all households are childless. Almost 50% of all Germans in relationships cheat on their partners.

For the third time in a row, the German Competition opens our minds for thoughts, images, stories and realites of our society, inviting us on a journey of discovery in our own country.

In 2003, the German Competition arose from Local Heroes, a competition for films from the Berlin-Brandendburg region, and continues to grow: the number of submissions has risen 26% since its introduction. Most – 264 to be exact – come from Berlin. Of 958 German films screened, 20 were selected to compete. Of all 100 German films shown at the festival, 27 come from German universities and academies.

A jury of four will select two films to receive the “Best German Short Film” Award.

more info top

AC - AUDIENCE COMPETITION 

Immaginale

The Immaginale, started eight years ago as an independent festival, has since found a home within interfilm as a special section dedicated to Italy.
Over the years, this little *festival within a festival* has gone through many changes. Our goal, however, has remained identical throughout: to give an overview of Italian short films as well as the conditions under which they are produced.

In two programs with a total of 15 films we present Love and Other Special Offers using the example of vacuum cleaner salesmen, supermarkets, yachts and wardrobes. Under the header Memories, Labour & Social Affairs surreal games find their place alongside children, the outskirts of cities, and civil engagement.

more info

Eject VIII

It started as an anarchistic, absurd, mold-breaking event idea in a factory yard in Prenzlauer Berg, and has turned into a real audience magnet. "Eject" has survived its 7th-year curse and returned to await 800 audience members in the Großer Saal at the Volksbühne on Rosa-Luxemburg-Platz.
20 strange and unconventional films about anything from accidents and mishaps, very loud screams for love, and various home and away games are ready to be nominated or "ejected" by you......in a voting process that*s as unique as the films.
Have your mirrors ready to pick the strangest of the strange: Eject!

more info top

KuKi CHILDREN'S COMPETITION 

More enchanting, more diverse, and wilder than ever, the children*s section has been expanded to make up a Short Film Festival for Children and Youth.

Divided for the first time into three separate competitions, 26 films from 12 countries let young audiences explore strange worlds and experience exciting adventures, often in animation and without dialog. The five members of the Children*s Jury will select two clips for the "Best Children*s Short Film" award.

Before the KuKi programs, see what happens when children and young people take the camera into their own hands. We present the film version of the French animation short "Bus Stop," created by local students during a workshop prior to the festival. In two other programs, interfilm gives budding young filmmakers the chance to present their films to a larger audience: The Best of the Berlin Youth Media Festival 2004, with the works of aspiring directors and producers between the ages of 6 and 25, and the DVD presentation of the "Workshop for Young Filmmakers."

Special thanks go to Zapf Umzüge, whose cooperation made the expansion of the children*s program at the 21st International Short Film Festival possible.

more Info top

Programme -> Wettbewerbe

IC INTERNATIONALER WETTBEWERB 

Das Herzstück des Festivals ist der internationale Wettbewerb. 114 Filme aus 33 Ländern konkurrieren in acht Programmen thematischen sowie jeweils zwei Dokumentarfilm- und Konfrontationen-Programmen um die sechs Awards.

Statistisch haben die französischen Filme die besten Chancen, sie stellen mit 13 Beiträgen die stärkste Nation dar. Es folgen die USA (10), England (9) sowie Deutschland und Spanien mit jeweils acht Filmen im Wettbewerb. Aber auch kleinere Filmnationen sind vertreten: Der Iran schickt gleich drei Filme ins Rennen, Bulgarien und Kurdistan je einen. Der mit 28 Minuten längste Film „The Moon and the Son“ kommt aus den USA, der kürzeste ist „V Gradinata Na Raia“ aus Bulgarien. Durchschnittlich haben die Wettbewerbsbeiträge eine Länge von 9 Minuten 5 Sekunden. 16 Filme sind 3 Minuten oder kürzer, 5 Filme sind länger als 20 Minuten.
Falls man keinen der Nominierten verpassen möchte, muss man es sich 17 Stunden 25 Minuten und 1 Sekunde in den Sesseln des Kino Babylon Berlin:Mitte und den Hackeschen Höfen gemütlich machen.

Die internationale Jury vergibt drei Preise in den Kategorien „Bester Film“, „Beste Animation“ und „Beste Kamera“, zwei Spezialjurys zeichnen den „Besten Dokumentarfilm“ sowie den „Besten Film gegen Gewalt und Intoleranz“ aus.

mehr Info top

GC DEUTSCHER WETTBEWERB 

Deutschland ist relativ rohstoffarm, derzeit ist die Wirtschaft durch eine ungewohnt hohe Arbeitslosigkeit und relativ niedrige Zuwachsraten gekennzeichnet. Nur bei den Vereinen gibt es einen Anstieg: Jedes Jahr werden mindestens 15.000 neue e. V. gegründet. Rund 90 Prozent der jungen Erwachsenen streben eine feste Partnerschaft und Nachwuchs an. Jeder zweite deutsche Haushalt ist jedoch ein Ein-Personen-Haushalt. In 65 Prozent aller Haushalte gibt es keine Kinder. Fast jeder zweite Deutsche in einer Paarbeziehung geht fremd.

Zum dritten Mal öffnet der deutsche Wettbewerb den Blick für Gedanken, Bilder, Geschichten und die Wirklichkeit unserer Gesellschaft - eine Entdeckungsreise in das eigene Land.

2003 aus dem Local Heroes Wettbewerb hervorgegangen, der sich auf Filme aus der Region Berlin Brandenburg konzentrierte, wächst der Deutsche Wettbewerb seitdem kontinuierlich: Die Zahl der Einreichungen stieg seit Einführung der Sektion um 26%. Die meisten kommen aus Berlin: 264 Filme! Aus den 958 gesichteten deutschen Filmen schafften es 20 in den Wettbewerb. Von den insgesamt 100 deutschen Filmen in allen Programmen kommen 27 von Hochschulen.

Die vierköpfige Jury vergibt zwei Preise für den Besten Deutschen Kurzfilm.

mehr Info top

AC PUBLIKUMS-WETTBEWERBE 

Immaginale

Die Immaginale, die vor acht Jahren als eigenständiges Festival begann, hat im Rahmen von interfilm als Italien-Special ihre Heimat gefunden.
Im Laufe der Zeit hat dieses kleine *Festival im Festival* viele Veränderungen durchlaufen. Unser Ziel ist aber immer gleich geblieben: Einen Überblick sowohl der italienischen Kurzfilmproduktion wie der Bedingungen ihrer Entstehung zu geben.

In zwei Programmen mit insgesamt 15 Filmen behandeln wir Love and Other Special Offers anhand von Staubsaugerverkäufern, Supermärkten, Yachten und Kleiderschränken. Unter dem Titel Memories, Labour & Social Affairs finden sich surreale Spiele, Kinder, die Außenbezirke der Städte und soziales Engagement.

mehr Info

Eject VIII

Was als anarchistische, abwegige und alle Rahmen sprengende Veranstaltungsidee in einem Fabrikhof im Prenzlauer Berg begann, hat sich mittlerweile zum echten Publikumsmagneten entwickelt. "Eject" hat das verflixte siebte Jahr erfolgreich hinter sich gelassen und erwartet auch diesmal wieder annähernd 800 Zuschauer im Großen Saal der Volksbühne am Rosa-Luxemburg-Platz.
20 schräge und eigenwillige Filme rund um Unfälle und Mißgeschicke, sehr laute Schreie nach Liebe und diversen Heim- und Auswärtsspielen stehen in diesem Jahr zur Wahl und werden vom Publikum mit Hilfe eines genauso abwegigen Abstimmungssystems mit Kultcharakter entweder nominiert oder "ejected".
Halten Sie ihren Spiegel bereit und wählen sie das Abwegigste: Eject!

mehr Info top

CC KINDERFILM-WETTBEWERB 

Bezaubernder, vielfältiger und wilder präsentiert sich in diesem Jahr die zum Kinder- und Jugendkurzfilmfestival ausgebaute Kindersektion.
In erstmals drei Wettbewerbsprogrammen lassen 26 Filme die jungen Zuschauer in fremde Welten und aufregende Abenteuer eintauchen. Animationen ohne Dialoge dominieren die Beiträge aus zwölf Ländern. Die fünfköpfige Kinder-Jury vergibt zwei Preise für die "Besten Kinderfilme".

Vor den drei KuKi Programmen kann man sehen, was passiert, wenn Kinder und Jugendliche selbst hinter der Kamera stehen: Gezeigt wird die Verfilmung der französischen Animation "Bus Stop", die während eines Workshops im Vorfeld des Festivals entstand. Auch in zwei weiteren Programmen gibt interfilm Berlin erstmals Nachwuchsfilmemachern die Chance, sich einem großen Publikum zu präsentieren: Zwischen 6 und 25 Jahre alt sind die jungen Filmemacher, deren erste Erfolge beim Best Of des Berliner Jugendmedienfestivals 2004 und der DVD-Präsentation der "Werkstatt für Junge Filmer" vorgeführt werden.

Besonderer Dank gilt Zapf Umzüge, ohne deren Unterstützung eine Erweiterung des Angebots für Kinder und Jugendliche beim 21. Internationalen Kurzfilmfestival nicht möglich gewesen wäre.

mehr Info top